Jiu-Jitsu focuses on the transition from standing to ground and ground fighting. Training and competitions can take place in a Gi or without a Gi in sports pants and shirt (No-Gi).

The associated competition discipline used to be called Ne-Waza, which was included in 2010, and established in the World Games 2013 in two initial categories (men -85kg and women -70kg).

The fight of two opponents starts standing. Punches and kicks are not allowed. After starting the fight, the referee only interrupts during critical moments. Normally, the main part of the fight takes place on the ground. The goal is to win by submission with a lock on the joints or strangulation, or by points. During the time of five minutes, it is possible to gain points for throws, takedowns, controlling positions and certain actions that give an advantage in the progression of the fight.

From 2014 the competition is held in 10 weight divisions:
Male: -56kg, -62 kg, -69kg, -77kg, -85kg, -94kg, +94kg
Female: -49kg, -55kg, -62kg, -70kg, +70kg

2019 the number of female categories was increased:
Female: -45kg; -48kg; -52kg; -57kg; -63kg; -70kg; +70kg